Stephen Williams MP becomes an honorary Alderman of the city and county of Bristol

Bristol West MP, Stephen Williams, was last night made an honorary Alderman of the city and county of Bristol.


Stephen Williams was first elected as a Liberal Democrat councillor to Cabot Ward in May 1993. Details of his service as follows:

Elected to Avon County Council 1993-96.

Elected to Bristol City Council 1995-1999.

Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group during 1995-97.

Served on various Scrutiny Commissions and Development Control Committees during his time as a councillor.

Member of Bristol Arts Panel; Bristol Buildings Preservation Trust Limited; Planning, Transport and Development Committee; Council for the Preservation of Ancient Bristol; Joint Disciplinary Appeals Sub-Committee; Joint Planning Consultative Committee; Joint Highways and Transportation Consultative Committee; Planning, Transport and Development (Special Purposes) Sub-Committee; Tripartite Liaison Meetings (Avon County Council/ Bristol City Council/Bristol Development Corporation), and West of England Initiative.

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 empowers the Council, by resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting at a meeting specially convened for the purpose, to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on a person who has, in the Council's opinion, rendered eminent services to the Council as a past member.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.